Phayathai

My boyfriend was recommended this restaurant by one of his friends and the ratings on urbanspoon were high, so we decided to give it a try. I love Thai food. I have tried to cook Thai at home and some dishes were successful, but making the pad thai is hard. It leaves me no choice but to go out and have it.

The street that this restaurant was on is rather dark and hidden at night. It definitely did not stand out, but the interior was decorated nicely with the light dimly lit for a romantic feel. Fortunately, we were given a table along the walls. Some of the tables in the middle of the room were located so close to the next table that I would feel like I could eavesdrop on the neighbours conversation. I like my privacy.

We were served water pretty quickly and it did not take long for us to decide from the menu. Maybe our appetizers were easy to make because they came so fast, which was great because I was starving. The first appetizer ordered was Tofu Tord – deep fried tofu served with peanut sauce. The tofu alone was obviously bland, but dipping it into the peanut sauce made it quite enjoyable. I wanted to order another serving, but unfortunately I was full after the main course. I had asked for a Green Papaya Salad. After tasting it, I realized that it was mango salad. Afraid that the pricing was different (but more because I just really wanted to try this salad), I confirmed with the waiter. He told me he heard Mango Salad. I assured him I had ordered the Papaya Salad. Instead of gladly fixing up the mix up, he explained that the two salads were exactly the same except for the fruit. I wanted to try something new, but I dislike confrontations, so I accepted the mango salad. Don’t get me wrong, it was good and had a real kick of spice, but it is good to try new things right?


As for main courses, we shared a Paneang Kai (paneang curry with chicken) and Phad Thai Kung (pad thai with shrimps). The curry was very good and the right amount of spice for me. It did not stand out from other curries I have had before and I felt it tasted very similar to the Thai curry I make at home except with some mint leaves in it. Oh, and the rice didn’t come with the dish. The pad thai, however, was very different on my taste buds. It may be just me, but I felt it did not have that slight sour tastes that some other restaurants have. I don’t know if it was the sauce or method of cooking, but I really enjoyed the taste of this pad thai and immediately thought of bringing my parents another time.

Although I was full at the end of the meal, I felt that the price was a bit high for the portions given. Considering I paid almost $15 for each of the main dishes, I expected more. Nonetheless, it was a good restaurant.

1235 Rue Guy, Montreal, Quebec  514-933-9949

Phayathai on Urbanspoon

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Casual, Inexpensive, Montreal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

