Bilboquet Westmount

What do you first think of when you hear Bilboquet? Fruity sorbets! My first sorbet experience was a few years back and I just loved how their sorbets tasted like the actual fruit itself. I have already tried their Mango, Pear, and Litchi sorbets. This visit however was to try their grilled cheese sandwiches and ice cream cupcakes.

Bilboquet Westmount is located within a 10 minutes walk from Vendome metro station on Sherbrooke street. I took a nice long walk from Bonaventure, so I was starving by the time I got there. Upon entering, you see their floor to ceiling blackboard with all their ice cream/sorbet flavours, drinks, and lunch items. There are a few tables and chairs for those who wish to dine in.

I was definitely overwhelmed with their large menu staring back at me on the wall, but the lady, although busy with preparing food, guided us to the choices in grilled cheese sandwiches. There were approximately 5-6 different sandwiches, and unfortunately I cannot remember them all at the moment. I chose to have The French Onion sandwich (cheddar cheese with caramelized onions), while my friend ordered the Brie and Cranberry sandwich. After ordering our drinks, a Cappuccino and a Mocha, we were told to sit and we would be served shortly.

My friend really enjoyed her Brie and Cranberry sandwich. First off, she loves brie cheese, so it would be hard to go wrong, but she said the cranberries were not overly sweet or sour and she liked how the cranberry juices flowed to the edges of the sandwich and incorporated with the cheese. Just like brie is a love for my friend, I really like onions, so it was hard for me to not like mine as well. I would have preferred if the onions and cheese were not almost all squished out and along the sides of the sandwich instead of being in between the bread slices. It made some areas of the sandwich lacking in filling. We both found the slices of bread to have the right amount of crunch to it and it made me really want a panini press.

I am not a big coffee drinker, so I probably should not comment too much on the drinks. The waitress had mixed up our drinks, so unfortunately I was stuck with the cappuccino since my friend was sick. The cappuccino was too bitter for me and I had to add sugar. I probably would have enjoyed the mocha more because of the chocolate, oh well.

After we were all done, we got some ice cream cupcakes for dessert. The cupcakes are make of a thin layer of vanilla cake, then a layer of sorbet, and finally decorated with either an ice cream or sorbet. We were told that we could order these in any flavour combination we liked for parties. We chose the Mango Raspberry Cupcake (both layers are sorbets) and the Lemon Vanilla Cupcake (lemon sorbet with vanilla ice cream). Both of them had a nice mix of sweet and sour. I warn though that the lemon sorbet is very tart. The cake layer was a bit hard and chewy for me, but frozen cake would naturally have that texture.

The grilled cheese sandwiches and ice cream cupcakes were both a delight. I will return when I need a little treat for myself. On a side note, for those living in the South Shore, they are currently selling their ice cream and sorbets in bucket form at Grandbois at Dix30 and by next year they should have a new boutique opening at Dix30. Hurray!

4864 Sherbrooke Ouest,  Montreal, H3Z 1H1  514-369-1118

Bilboquet Westmount on Urbanspoon

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Casual, Inexpensive, Montreal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

